Skip to main content

The 2030 World Cup will be played in Spain, Portugal, and Morocco.

It’s official now. Spain, Portugal, and Morocco will host the 2030 World Cup, and in a novel decision, the championship will kick off in Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay. Specifically, the first match of the World Cup will be held in Montevideo.

The rest of the tournament will take place in Spain, Portugal, and Morocco, the winners of the bid. Therefore, there will be the 2030 World Cup in Spain.

Argentina, Uruguay, and Paraguay will be the “hosts of the opening matches,” as stated by the leader himself, without emphasizing where the rest of the tournament will be held, beyond those opening matches of the three South American teams.

“Football brought together three continents and six countries in a historic event.”

“Football brought together three continents and six countries in a historic event. I am extremely happy, still eager to dance. There are many reasons to celebrate, to rejoice, and above all, to recognize and thank those who made this proposal possible,” said Alejandro Domínguez, president of CONMEBOL.

“We are going to have the best World Cup of all time,” added Ignacio Alonso, president of the Uruguayan Football Federation (AUF).

The decision was made today and was an alliance between both bids. The South American bid, which lacked infrastructure, receives this nod from FIFA to be able to celebrate the 100 years since the first World Cup, held in South American lands.