Skip to main content

UEFA EURO 2024, all the information: venues, dates, teams, format…

Germany will host UEFA EURO 2024 after being chosen to organize the 17th UEFA European Championship at the UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Nyon on September 27, 2018. Turkey was the only other country to submit its candidacy to host UEFA EURO 2024. The Federal Republic of Germany hosted the 1988 edition, making this the first time Germany hosts the UEFA European Championship since reunification. The FIFA World Cup 2006 was also held in the country.

When is EURO 2024?

The final phase of UEFA EURO 2024 is scheduled from June 14 to July 14, 2024.

As the host country, Germany was the top seed in Group A and held position A1, so they will play the opening match at the Munich Football Stadium on Friday, June 14. Germany/The Federal Republic of Germany has participated in all EURO tournaments since 1972. The Federal Republic of Germany won the 1972 and 1980 editions, while the unified Germany conquered EURO ’96.

Who has qualified for EURO 2024?

The draw for the final phase took place in Hamburg on Saturday, December 2.

Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England Group D: Winner of play-off A, Netherlands, Austria, France Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Winner of play-off B Group F: Turkey, Winner of play-off C, Portugal, Czech Republic

The last three places in the final tournament will be determined through playoffs, scheduled for March 2024.

What is the tournament format?

The format will be the same as UEFA EURO 2020. The top two from each of the six groups in the final phase advance to the round of 16, along with the three best third-placed teams.

Where and when will the UEFA EURO 2024 final be played? The Olympiastadion in Berlin will be the venue for the final on Sunday, July 14, 2014.

The ten chosen host cities for tournament matches include nine of the stadiums used in the 2006 World Cup, plus the Düsseldorf Arena.

The Munich Football Stadium will be the venue for EURO matches for the second consecutive tournament. The Bayern Munich stadium was one of the 11 stadiums that hosted matches in UEFA EURO 2020.

The host cities are as follows:

Berlin: Olympiastadion Berlin (current capacity: 70,000) Cologne: Cologne Stadium (47,000) Dortmund: BVB Stadion Dortmund (66,000) Düsseldorf: Düsseldorf Arena (47,000) Frankfurt: Frankfurt Arena (48,000) Gelsenkirchen: Arena AufSchalke (50,000) Hamburg: Volksparkstadion Hamburg (50,000) Leipzig: Leipzig Stadium (42,000) Munich: Munich Football Arena (67,000) Stuttgart: Stuttgart Arena (54,000)

When will tickets for EURO 2024 go on sale? After the success of the first phase of public ticket sales, in which over 20 million tickets were requested, UEFA has announced details of the second phase of ticket sales for EURO 2024.

Tickets will also be available for fans of national teams that qualify through the UEFA EURO 2024 playoffs, scheduled for March 21 and March 26, 2024.

Key dates for EURO 2024 Qualification Phase March 21, 2024: UEFA EURO 2024 playoff semi-finals March 26, 2024: UEFA EURO 2024 playoff finals

Final Phase June 14, 2024: Opening match of UEFA EURO 2024, Munich Football Stadium July 14, 2024: UEFA EURO 2024 final, Olympiastadion Berlin.